Vergottini: The U.S. Code in Akoma Ntoso XML

Grant Vergottini of Xcential Group has posted The U.S. Code in Akoma Ntoso, at Legix.info.

Here are excerpts from the post:

[…] I wanted to share something I’ve been working on. It should come as absolutely no surprise to anyone that I’ve been working on producing a version of the U.S. Code in Akoma Ntoso [ at http://legix.info/ (scroll down to “United States Laws”)]. A few weeks ago, the U.S. Office of the Law Revision Counsel released the full U.S. Code in XML. My company, Xcential, helped them to produce that release. Now I’ve taken the obvious next step and begun work on a transform to convert that XML into Akoma Ntoso – the format currently being standardized by the OASIS Legal Document ML technical committee. I am an active member of that TC. […]

At this point I’ve written a transform to produce Akoma Ntoso XML according to the most recent schema released a few weeks ago. The transform is not finished, but it gives a pretty good rendition of the U.S. Code in Akoma Ntoso. I’m using the transform as a vehicle to identify use cases and issues which I can bring up with the OASIS TC at our weekly meetings. As a result, there are a few open issues and the resulting XML does not fully validate.

I’m making 8 Titles available now. They’re smaller Titles which are easier for me to work with as I refine the transform. Actually, I do have the first 25 Titles converted into Akoma Ntoso, but I’ll need to address some performance and space issues with my tired old development server before I can release the full set. Hopefully, over the next few months, I’ll be able to complete this work.

When you look at the XML, you will notice a “proposed” namespace prefix. This simply shows proposed aspects of Akoma Ntoso that are not yet adopted. Keep in mind that this is all development work – do not assume that the transformation I am showing is the final end result.

I’m looking for feedback. […]

For more details, please see the complete post.

Click here for an earlier post about the OLRC’s US Code in XML.

Click here for information about the Library of Congress’s Akoma Ntoso Challenge.

HT @grantcv1

This entry was posted in Applications, Data sets, Others' scholarly or sophisticated blogposts, Technology developments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vergottini: The U.S. Code in Akoma Ntoso XML

  1. Grant will present his US Code in Akoma Ntoso Sept 7 at Legal Open Document and Data symposium, Ravenna. http://summerschoollex.cirsfid.unibo.it/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/Programma-7Septv6.pdf

Leave a Reply

